For U.S. vehicles; figures from SUVLook's 2026 Grand Highlander profile (Toyota-published specifications, profile updated September 23, 2026) and the profiles of the rivals named below. Toyota's 2027 model page was read on November 4, 2026 for context and does not state a towing figure.

The 2026 Toyota Grand Highlander is rated for up to 5,000 lb on the gas and Hybrid MAX versions, and 3,500 lb on the regular Hybrid. That gap matters: the powertrain you pick sets the ceiling, and the trailer's loaded weight, not its sticker weight, is what you compare against it. Treat these as the starting point and confirm your exact vehicle in the owner's manual and on the door-jamb label.

2026 Grand Highlander towing capacity table

SUVLook's 2026 Grand Highlander profile records the following Toyota-published U.S. ratings.

2026 powertrain Maximum towing Condition noted in our profile
Gas (2.4L turbo) 5,000 lb "Gas and Hybrid MAX"
Hybrid MAX 5,000 lb "Gas and Hybrid MAX"
Regular Hybrid 3,500 lb Manufacturer-published U.S. specification

The profile's source list is Toyota's Grand Highlander model page and the 2026 Grand Highlander release on Toyota's newsroom. Our profile does not break the numbers out further by trim, and it does not record whether Toyota's figures assume a trailer with brakes. We therefore do not state a braked or unbraked split, or any drivetrain conditions beyond those shown above.

Our reading: if you expect to tow close to 4,000 lb or more, the regular Hybrid is the wrong powertrain on paper, because its listed limit is 1,500 lb below the others.

Which Grand Highlander powertrain is which?

Toyota sold the 2026 Grand Highlander with three powertrains: gas, Hybrid and Hybrid MAX. Our trim levels guide explains that the Hybrid MAX system makes 362 net combined horsepower and appears on specific grades (Limited and Platinum), while the gas engine is a 2.4-liter turbo rated at 265 horsepower and the regular Hybrid makes 245 net combined horsepower. Those figures come from Toyota's 2026 brochure, as cited in that guide.

The practical point for towing: the same grade name can hide a different system. A Hybrid Limited and a Hybrid MAX Limited share a name but not a tow rating in our profile, so read the full model description on the window sticker, not just the trim badge.

For fuel use with a trailer in mind, see our Grand Highlander MPG guide. Fuel economy while towing will differ from EPA ratings, and we have no published figure for it.

2026 versus 2027: keep the years separate

The figures above are for the 2026 model year. Toyota's 2027 Grand Highlander page, dated October 1, 2026, lists a 2.5-liter hybrid, a Hybrid MAX with 362 total system horsepower and a 2.4-liter turbo gas engine, with a new Woodland Edition among the hybrid grades. It does not state any towing capacity.

So we cannot say whether 2027 ratings match 2026. Do not apply a 2026 number to a 2027 vehicle; check the 2027 owner's manual or Toyota's specification sheet for the specific grade. Toyota's spec PDFs were not readable by our tools.

What the number means in practice

A 5,000-lb rating is a ceiling for the trailer, with everything on it. The weight to use is the loaded trailer: the trailer itself plus gear, water, propane, batteries and anything stored inside. A camper advertised as light when empty can be much heavier on departure day.

Two other limits can bind before the trailer rating does:

  • Tongue weight and payload. The downward load on the hitch counts against the vehicle's carrying capacity, along with passengers and cargo. A full three-row family in the cabin leaves less room for tongue weight. Our profile does not carry a payload or tongue-weight figure, so use the label on your own vehicle.
  • Braking. Many manufacturers set a lower limit for trailers without their own brakes. Our profile does not record Toyota's unbraked number, so check the manual before towing anything without trailer brakes.

Gross combined weight and axle ratings also apply. We do not have those figures in our profile and do not give any.

How the Grand Highlander compares with three-row rivals

These rows come from the SUVLook 2026 profile of each rival, which cite the manufacturer sources shown.

2026 model Towing figure in SUVLook profile Condition noted
Toyota Grand Highlander (gas, Hybrid MAX) 5,000 lb Gas and Hybrid MAX
Toyota Grand Highlander (Hybrid) 3,500 lb Regular hybrid
Honda Pilot 3,500 lb (2WD); 5,000 lb (AWD) Per Honda Info Center
Hyundai Palisade 5,000 lb gas; 4,000 lb hybrid "With brakes"; per Hyundai specifications
Mazda CX-90 5,000 lb Properly equipped inline-six; per Mazda
Chevrolet Traverse 5,000 lb Properly equipped; per Chevrolet
Ford Explorer 5,000 lb Properly equipped; per Ford

The takeaway is that 5,000 lb is the common ceiling in this class, so the Grand Highlander's gas and Hybrid MAX rating matches its rivals rather than beating them. The differences are in the conditions: the Pilot's 5,000 lb requires AWD, the Palisade's hybrid is capped at 4,000 lb, and the Grand Highlander's regular Hybrid at 3,500 lb sits below the rest. If you want the hybrid's fuel economy and also need to tow near 5,000 lb, the Palisade Hybrid is closer on paper than the Grand Highlander Hybrid, though the Hybrid MAX closes the gap at the cost of a different powertrain. For the wider field, see our SUV towing capacity ranking.

Compare the Grand Highlander with its closest rivals directly: Grand Highlander vs Honda Pilot and Grand Highlander vs Hyundai Palisade.

Before you tow: a short checklist

  1. Find your Grand Highlander's model year, powertrain (gas, Hybrid or Hybrid MAX) and drivetrain on the window sticker or the vehicle itself.
  2. Look up the rating for that exact combination in the owner's manual.
  3. Get the trailer's loaded weight and confirm whether it has brakes.
  4. Check the door-jamb label for payload and count passengers, cargo and tongue weight against it.
  5. Have a qualified installer confirm the hitch and wiring. This guide gives no installation steps.

FAQs

What is the towing capacity of the 2026 Toyota Grand Highlander?

Up to 5,000 lb on the gas and Hybrid MAX versions and 3,500 lb on the regular Hybrid, per SUVLook's 2026 profile of Toyota's published specifications.

Can the Grand Highlander Hybrid tow 5,000 lb?

Not according to our profile: the regular Hybrid is listed at 3,500 lb. The 5,000-lb rating applies to gas and Hybrid MAX.

Does the 2027 Grand Highlander tow the same?

Unknown from the sources we could read. Toyota's 2027 page lists powertrains and grades but no towing figure. Check the 2027 owner's manual.

Does the rating assume trailer brakes?

Our profile does not say. Confirm braked and unbraked limits in the owner's manual before towing.

How does it compare with the Honda Pilot?

The Pilot is listed at 5,000 lb with AWD and 3,500 lb with 2WD, so the Grand Highlander's gas and Hybrid MAX match the Pilot's AWD figure.

Related SUVLook research

Sources