For U.S. vehicles; figures from Kia's own model pages, checked November 4, 2026. The Sorento Hybrid page we read covers the 2027 model year, and the Plug-in Hybrid page covers 2026. Years are stated for every figure below.
The Sorento hybrid is Kia's three-row answer for families who want better fuel economy without moving to a minivan or a full-size SUV. Kia sells it two ways: a self-charging hybrid that never plugs in, and a plug-in hybrid with an electric range. Both seat up to seven. This guide lays out the trims, output, mpg and cargo numbers Kia publishes, and it compares them with the gas Sorento and with Kia's smaller hybrids.
Sorento Hybrid trims and starting prices (2027 page)
The Kia Sorento Hybrid page lists three trims. Prices are starting MSRPs. Kia states that its MSRPs exclude destination and handling, taxes, title and license fees, options and retailer charges.
| Trim (2027) | Starting MSRP | Drive | EPA-est. city / highway / combined mpg |
|---|---|---|---|
| EX | $39,090 | Front-wheel drive | 37 / 36 / 37 |
| X-Line EX AWD | $43,090 | All-wheel drive | 32 / 35 / 34 |
| X-Line SX Prestige AWD | $47,590 | All-wheel drive | 32 / 35 / 34 |
Two details stand out. The front-drive EX gains three combined mpg over the AWD trims, and all-wheel drive on this model is bundled with the X-Line trims, so there is no cheaper AWD hybrid on the page. Kia also lists an estimated total driving range of 655 miles for the front-drive EX and 602 miles for the AWD version shown.
Hybrid powertrain and output
Kia describes a turbocharged gas engine paired with an electric motor, producing 232 horsepower and 270 lb-ft of torque. Fuel is regular unleaded, 87 octane or higher. AWD models include a Terrain Mode. This is a conventional hybrid: the page gives no electric-only range because it cannot be plugged in.
The page does not state the transmission or a towing rating for the hybrid. Those are gaps in this guide, not zero values.
Sorento Plug-in Hybrid (2026 page)
If you want to drive on electricity for short trips, the Sorento Plug-in Hybrid page covers the 2026 model:
| Trim (2026) | Starting MSRP | Drive |
|---|---|---|
| EX AWD | $48,290 | All-wheel drive |
| X-Line SX Prestige AWD | $53,490 | All-wheel drive |
Kia lists 261 horsepower, an EPA-estimated 31 miles of all-electric range and a 440-mile total driving range. The page did not show mpg or MPGe, and it did not list towing. Seating is seven passengers with a standard third row and optional second-row captain's chairs.
Notice the model-year mismatch: the hybrid page we read is 2027 and the plug-in page is 2026. Prices and specifications between the two should be compared with that in mind, and the plug-in's 2027 pricing may differ. Check Kia's current page before you decide.
Seating and cargo
Both hybrid pages list standard three-row seating. The hybrid EX is described as a seven-passenger configuration, with second-row captain's chairs available. Kia's pages give up to 75.5 cubic feet of cargo space with the second and third rows folded. The figure is the same on the hybrid and the plug-in page.
Kia does not list the cargo volume behind the third row on the pages we read. SUVLook has a separate Sorento cargo dimensions guide with more detail on the model's space. Treat that guide's figures as belonging to its stated model year and powertrain rather than assuming they match this hybrid exactly.
Hybrid versus the gas Sorento
The Kia Sorento page lists the 2027 gas lineup from $32,590 for the LX to $47,990 for the X-Pro SX Prestige AWD. Only three of its rows matter for a direct comparison with the hybrid trims:
| 2027 trim | Starting MSRP | Engine as published | EPA-est. combined mpg |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gas EX (turbo) | $38,690 | 2.5L turbo, 274 hp | 23 |
| Gas X-Line EX AWD | $42,990 | Not stated on page | 23 |
| Hybrid EX | $39,090 | Turbo hybrid, 232 hp | 37 |
| Hybrid X-Line EX AWD | $43,090 | Turbo hybrid, 232 hp | 34 |
On Kia's own numbers, the hybrid EX costs $400 more than the gas EX at starting price, loses 42 horsepower (232 versus 274) and gains 14 mpg combined. The hybrid X-Line EX AWD is also $100 above the gas X-Line EX AWD with an 11 mpg combined advantage. Those differences are simple arithmetic on starting prices, not a statement about equipment, which can differ between trims.
The base gas LX and S trims use a non-turbo engine: the page lists 186 hp for the LX and a 26 mpg combined rating for LX and S. The only gas towing figure on the page is 4,500 lb for the X-Pro SX Prestige AWD, with additional equipment required. The hybrid page gave no towing number, so do not assume the hybrid matches it.
Sorento Hybrid versus Kia's other hybrid SUVs
Kia's smaller hybrids use different class sizes and are 2026 profiles, so the comparison is about shape rather than a like-for-like trim fight. Figures come from SUVLook's vehicle profiles, which cite Kia Media.
| Model | Model year | Seating | Hybrid output | Combined mpg | Starting MSRP | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sorento Hybrid | 2027 | Up to 7 | 232 hp | 34-37 | $39,090 | Kia |
| Sportage Hybrid | 2026 | Not in profile | Not in profile | Not in profile | $30,490 (HEV LX) | Kia Media |
| Niro Hybrid | 2026 | Not in profile | 139 hp | 53 (LX, EX, SX); 49 (SX Touring) | $27,390 (LX) | Kia Media |
SUVLook's Sportage profile lists only the price for the hybrid LX, so we do not compare its output or mpg. For reference its gas Sportage has 187 hp, 2,500 lb towing with trailer brakes and up to 74.1 cubic feet of cargo. The Niro Hybrid has a 139 hp system, a 63.7 cubic foot maximum cargo space and, per Kia, no towing capability. See also SUVLook's Sportage trim levels guide.
The Sorento is the only one of the three whose pages we read list a third row. It costs roughly $8,600 more than the Sportage Hybrid LX at starting price ($39,090 versus $30,490), though that gap spans different model years and vehicle classes.
Who should consider the Sorento Hybrid?
This is editorial guidance from the published numbers.
- Families who need a third row: the Sorento Hybrid seats up to seven with a standard third row, while the Sportage and Niro profiles we used list no third-row seating.
- Drivers prioritizing fuel economy: the front-drive EX has the best combined mpg on the page at 37.
- Buyers who need AWD: the hybrid is AWD only in the X-Line trims, from $43,090.
- Short-trip commuters who can charge at home: the plug-in lists 31 electric miles, but the price starts at $48,290.
- Buyers who tow: the hybrid page did not publish a rating, so confirm with Kia and the owner's manual before buying for towing.
What this guide could not confirm
Kia Media's specifications page for the Sorento Hybrid returned an access error when we tried to read it, so we relied on the model pages at kia.com. Those pages did not show the hybrid's transmission, towing capacity, third-row legroom or plug-in mpg. Where we could not source a number we left it out.
Frequently asked questions
How much horsepower does the Sorento Hybrid have?
Kia lists 232 horsepower and 270 lb-ft of torque on its 2027 Sorento Hybrid page.
What is the Sorento Hybrid's gas mileage?
Kia's 2027 page lists 37 combined mpg for the EX FWD and 34 combined for the X-Line AWD trims.
Does the Sorento Hybrid need to be plugged in?
No. The Sorento Hybrid is not a plug-in. The separate Sorento Plug-in Hybrid lists 31 miles of electric range on its 2026 page.
How many people does the Sorento Hybrid seat?
Kia's pages list standard three-row seating for up to seven, with optional second-row captain's chairs.
How much can the Sorento Hybrid tow?
Kia's hybrid page did not list a towing rating. The gas Sorento page lists up to 4,500 lb on one trim, the X-Pro SX Prestige AWD, with additional equipment. Check the owner's manual for the exact vehicle.
Is the Sorento Hybrid more expensive than the gas Sorento?
At the EX trim, the hybrid starts at $39,090 versus $38,690 for the gas EX, both 2027 starting MSRPs before destination.
Sources
- Kia: 2027 Sorento Hybrid
- Kia: 2026 Sorento Plug-in Hybrid
- Kia: 2027 Sorento
- Kia Media: 2026 Sportage pricing
- Kia Media: 2026 Niro HEV specifications
- SUVLook 2026 Kia Sportage profile and 2026 Kia Niro Hybrid profile, updated September 23, 2026
Prices and specifications can change. Use the VIN and window sticker for the exact vehicle.
Dimensions · Space · Buying guides