For U.S. vehicles; figures from Kia's own model pages, read November 4, 2026. This is a spec-sheet comparison, not a road test.

Kia sells three SUVs with a third row in the U.S.: the Telluride, the Sorento and the EV9. They are very different vehicles. The Telluride is the big gas-or-hybrid family hauler, the Sorento is a smaller seven-seater with a tight last row, and the EV9 is a fully electric three-row SUV. If you are searching for a Kia 3rd row SUV, the model-year labels matter, so this guide states them for every figure. Kia's live Telluride and Sorento pages now describe 2027 models, while the EV9 page describes the 2026 model.

Kia 3-row SUV comparison table

Every figure below was read on the linked Kia page. "Not stated" means Kia's page did not publish the value, and this guide does not fill it in from memory or from another model year.

Model Seats Third-row legroom Cargo behind third row Powertrain Starting MSRP
2027 Telluride 7 or 8 Not stated on the pages read 22.3 cu ft Gas 2.5L turbo (274 hp) or hybrid (329 hp) $39,190 (LX)
2027 Sorento 6 or 7 29.6 in 12.6 cu ft Gas 2.5L (186 hp) or 2.5L turbo (274 hp); hybrid sold separately $32,590 (LX)
2026 EV9 6 or 7 Not stated 20.2 cu ft Electric, 379 hp dual-motor AWD $54,900 (Light RWD)

All prices are starting MSRPs and exclude destination and handling charges, taxes, title, license, options and dealer charges, as Kia notes on its pages. The Sorento third-row figures come from Kia's Sorento specifications comparison page. That page did not label its trim columns, but it gave the same third-row value in every column.

2027 Kia Telluride

The Telluride is Kia's largest three-row SUV. Kia's Telluride page lists seating for up to eight, with a second-row bench on the LX, EX and most other trims (eight passengers on the LX and EX) and second-row captain's chairs on the S and X-Line EX (seven passengers). Kia's specifications page lists 60/40 split-folding and reclining third-row seats as standard on all 10 trims.

Cargo behind the third row is 22.3 cubic feet per the main Telluride page. That is a useful figure because it is the space you have when every seat is occupied. The Kia pages that could be read today did not publish a third-row legroom number for the 2027 model, so this guide does not give one. SUVLook's separate Telluride interior guide covers legroom with its own sources and model years stated.

Powertrains on the 2027 page:

  • Gas: 2.5-liter turbocharged four-cylinder, 274 horsepower and 311 lb-ft, with towing up to 5,000 pounds.
  • Hybrid: 2.5-liter turbo-hybrid, 329 horsepower and 339 lb-ft, with towing up to 4,500 pounds.

Kia lists EPA-estimated gas fuel economy by trim group (city/highway/combined):

2027 Telluride gas trims mpg
LX, S, EX, SX 20/26/22
X-Line EX, X-Line SX, X-Line SX Prestige 18/24/20
X-Pro SX, X-Pro SX Prestige 17/22/19

For the hybrid, the page shows 35 mpg combined on the EX front-wheel drive. The $39,190 starting price is for the LX. Towing figures come with conditions that differ by powertrain and equipment, so check the owner's manual and the door-jamb label for the exact vehicle. SUVLook's Telluride towing guide and trim guide go deeper.

2027 Kia Sorento

The Sorento is a midsize SUV with a standard third row, but it is the smallest of the three. Kia's Sorento page lists seven-passenger seating on the LX, with optional second-row captain's chairs. The specifications page shows seven seats on the LX, S and EX and six seats on the SX, the X-Line trims and the X-Pro SX Prestige, with 50/50 split-folding third-row seats standard on all eight trims.

The third-row numbers show the trade-off. Kia lists 29.6 inches of third-row legroom, 36.8 inches of third-row headroom and 12.6 cubic feet behind the third row, with a wheelbase of 110.8 inches and an overall length of 189.6 to 189.8 inches. Kia's page also gives up to 75.5 cubic feet of cargo space with the second and third rows folded flat.

Those figures make the Sorento a better fit for children or occasional adult passengers than for regular adult use in the last row. It is also the least expensive: the Sorento range runs from $32,590 for the LX to $47,990 for the X-Pro SX Prestige AWD.

Gas models use a 2.5-liter four-cylinder with 186 horsepower on the LX or a 2.5-liter turbo with 274 horsepower on the EX and above, paired with an 8-speed dual-clutch transmission for the turbo. EPA-estimated fuel economy on the page is 23/31/26 mpg (LX and S), 20/29/23 mpg (EX and SX) and 20/27/23 mpg (the AWD X-Line and X-Pro SX Prestige trims named by Kia).

Sorento Hybrid

Kia sells the hybrid as a separate model. Its 2027 Sorento Hybrid page lists seven-passenger seating on the EX with standard third-row seating and available second-row captain's chairs. EPA-estimated mpg (city/highway/combined) is 37/36/37 on the EX front-wheel drive and 32/35/34 on the X-Line EX AWD and X-Line SX Prestige AWD. Starting prices are $39,090 for the EX, $43,090 for the X-Line EX AWD and $47,590 for the X-Line SX Prestige AWD.

For the hybrid's trims, seating and the plug-in version, see SUVLook's Sorento Hybrid guide. It states the model year of its own figures, which should not be assumed to apply to the 2027 vehicle without checking.

2026 Kia EV9

The EV9 is Kia's electric three-row. Kia's EV9 page lists seating for up to seven adults, with a mix of six- and seven-passenger layouts by trim:

2026 EV9 trim Seating EPA-est. range Starting MSRP
Light RWD 7, second-row bench 230 mi $54,900
Light Long Range RWD 6 with captain's chairs available 305 mi $57,900
Wind AWD 7, second-row bench 283 mi $63,900
Land AWD 6 with captain's chairs; 7-passenger bench available 283 mi $68,900
GT-Line AWD 6, captain's chairs 280 mi $71,900

Cargo behind the third row is 20.2 cubic feet, 43.5 cubic feet behind the second row and 81.7 cubic feet behind the first row. The page lists a 76.1 kWh battery on the Light RWD and a 99.8 kWh battery on the other trims, 379 horsepower on the dual-motor AWD, and a wheelbase of 122 inches. Towing is up to 5,000 pounds on the Wind and Land with self-leveling rear suspension, a condition Kia attaches to the figure. Kia does not state third-row legroom on the pages read today, and the 305-mile headline range applies only to the Light Long Range RWD. Kia also lists a 317-mile figure from AMCI testing, which is not an EPA number.

Which Kia 3rd row SUV fits which buyer

  • Adults in the third row: The Telluride is the largest, and it has the most published space behind the third row (22.3 cubic feet). Kia's pages did not publish a third-row legroom number for it, so sit in the row before you decide.
  • Lowest price and a smaller footprint: The Sorento starts at $32,590, but its 29.6 inches of third-row legroom and 12.6 cubic feet of cargo behind the row make it a fit for kids and occasional use.
  • Fuel economy: The Sorento Hybrid lists 37 mpg combined on the EX FWD. The Telluride Hybrid lists 35 mpg combined on the EX FWD.
  • Electric: The EV9 is the only fully electric option, starting at $54,900 with EPA-estimated range between 230 and 305 miles depending on trim.
  • Captain's chairs: The Telluride S and X-Line EX, the EV9 Land and GT-Line and the optional Sorento layouts trade the middle seat for easier third-row access. See SUVLook's captain's chair SUV guide.

For rivals, SUVLook's best 3-row SUVs for 2026 and best 7 seater SUVs compare the broader field.

Frequently asked questions

Which Kia has a third row?

Kia's U.S. lineup with a third row, per its own pages, is the Telluride, the Sorento (including the Sorento Hybrid) and the EV9.

Which Kia 3rd row SUV is the biggest?

The Telluride is Kia's largest three-row SUV and seats up to eight. Kia lists 22.3 cubic feet behind the third row for the 2027 model.

Does the Kia Sorento have a third row?

Yes. The 2027 Sorento has 50/50 split-folding third-row seats on all trims, per Kia's specifications page. Kia lists 29.6 inches of third-row legroom and 12.6 cubic feet of cargo behind it.

Is there an electric Kia with a third row?

The 2026 EV9. Kia lists EPA-estimated range of 230 to 305 miles depending on trim, with a starting MSRP of $54,900.

How much does a Kia 3rd row SUV cost?

Starting MSRPs on Kia's pages are $32,590 for the 2027 Sorento LX, $39,190 for the 2027 Telluride LX and $54,900 for the 2026 EV9 Light RWD, all before destination and handling.

Sources

Figures were read on these pages on November 4, 2026. Kia's media site (kiamedia.com) refused automated access, so nothing here relies on it. Prices and specifications change; confirm on the window sticker.