For U.S. vehicles; figures from SUVLook's 2026 Ford profiles (updated September 23, 2026, citing Ford pages) and Ford's model pages, read November 4, 2026. This is a spec-sheet comparison, not a road test.

If you want a Ford SUV with a 3rd row, there are two choices: the Explorer and the Expedition. The Explorer is the midsize option, and the Expedition is the full-size one. Ford's other SUVs, the Bronco, Bronco Sport, Escape and Mustang Mach-E, do not have a third row. This guide explains how the two three-row models differ, what each figure depends on, and where Ford's pages leave gaps. Ford's live pages now show 2027 models while SUVLook's profiles cover 2026, so every figure carries its model year and the two are never mixed.

Ford 3-row SUV comparison table

Model Seats Third-row legroom Cargo behind third row Max cargo Max towing (conditions apply)
2026 Explorer (profile) 6 or 7 31.8 in 16.3 cu ft 85.8 cu ft (Active/ST-Line) 5,000 lb, properly equipped
2026 Expedition (profile) Up to 8 Not in profile Not in profile 108.5 cu ft standard; 123.1 cu ft MAX 9,600 lb standard 4x4; 9,000 lb MAX 4x4, properly equipped

Sources for the 2026 rows: the 2026 Explorer ST-Line page, the 2026 Explorer ST page, the 2026 Expedition page and Ford's 2026 Expedition technical specifications, as listed in the SUVLook profiles.

2026 Ford Explorer

The Explorer is the one most families cross-shop against the Honda Pilot and Chevrolet Traverse. SUVLook's Explorer profile lists 6 or 7 seats, depending on the second-row layout, so make sure the vehicle you want is the seven-seat version if you need seven. It lists 31.8 inches of third-row legroom, 37.5 inches in the second row, 43.0 inches in the front, and 16.3 cubic feet of cargo behind the third row. Maximum cargo is 85.8 cubic feet on Active and ST-Line configurations, and the profile notes it changes slightly on upper trims.

Powertrains: a 2.3-liter EcoBoost four-cylinder on the base models and a 3.0-liter EcoBoost V6 on the ST, with rear-wheel drive and available four-wheel drive. The profile lists ST-Line fuel economy of 20/29/24 mpg (city/highway/combined) with rear-wheel drive and 20/27/23 mpg with four-wheel drive. Dimensions are 198.7 inches long, 78.9 inches wide without mirrors and a 119.1-inch wheelbase.

Ford's tow rating is 5,000 pounds when properly equipped. That phrase is Ford's condition, not a guarantee for every Explorer, so confirm the rating for the exact vehicle in the owner's manual and on the door-jamb label. SUVLook has deeper pages on Explorer interior space, cargo dimensions, towing and trim levels.

2026 Ford Expedition

The Expedition is Ford's full-size three-row SUV, and it comes in two lengths. SUVLook's Expedition profile lists seating up to eight with a second row of bench or captain's chairs, 209.9 inches long on a 122.5-inch wheelbase for the standard body, and 221.7 inches long on a 131.5-inch wheelbase for the MAX.

Every Expedition uses a 3.5-liter EcoBoost V6: 400 horsepower and 480 lb-ft as standard, or 440 horsepower and 510 lb-ft on selected trims. Drive is rear-wheel or 4x4. The profile lists 16/24 mpg (city/highway) for the Active 4x2 and 15/22 mpg for many 4x4 trims.

Maximum cargo is 108.5 cubic feet for the standard body and 123.1 cubic feet for the MAX. The 2026 profile does not list third-row legroom or cargo behind the third row, so this guide does not give 2026 values for them. Towing is the Expedition's headline strength: 9,600 pounds for a properly equipped standard-wheelbase 4x4 and 9,000 pounds for a properly equipped MAX 4x4. For trims, see SUVLook's Expedition trim guide.

What Ford's 2027 pages say

Ford's live Explorer and Expedition pages describe the 2027 model year. These are separate from the 2026 figures above and should not be blended with them.

2027 figure (Ford page read Nov. 4, 2026) Explorer Expedition
Seating Up to 7; the Tremor seats 6 Seven or eight
Max cargo 85.8 cu ft (Active, ST-Line); 85.3 cu ft (Tremor, Platinum, ST) Not stated on the page read
Cargo behind third row Not stated 37.4 cu ft on Expedition MAX; standard wheelbase not stated
Towing Up to 5,000 lb 4x2 up to 6,000 lb; select 4x4 with Heavy-Duty Trailer Tow Package up to 9,600 lb; MAX Active 4x2 6,300 lb
Starting MSRP Not stated on the page read Not stated on the page read

Ford SUVs that do not have a third row

A search for a Ford SUV with a 3rd row will also surface Ford's smaller SUVs. The SUVLook 2026 profiles for these four describe a single rear seating row and give no third-row figures:

  • Bronco: the profile lists rear legroom of 35.7 inches (two-door) and 36.3 inches (four-door).
  • Bronco Sport: the profile lists 36.9 inches of rear legroom and cargo behind the second row.
  • Escape: the profile lists up to 40.7 inches of rear legroom on a sliding second row.
  • Mustang Mach-E: the profile lists 38.1 inches of rear legroom and cargo behind the rear seat.

None of these profiles lists a third row or a seat count above the second row. Ford's SUV size guide lays out where each model sits in the lineup. If you need seven or more seats from Ford, the choice is the Explorer or the Expedition.

Explorer or Expedition: which to choose

  • Regular towing: The Expedition's ratings are far above the Explorer's 5,000 pounds, but they depend on drivetrain and package. Check the exact vehicle.
  • Adults in the third row: The Explorer is the only one with a published 2026 third-row legroom figure (31.8 inches). Ford does not publish one for the Expedition on the pages read, so sit in the row.
  • Cargo with all seats up: The Explorer offers 16.3 cubic feet behind the third row in 2026. Ford's 2027 page lists 37.4 cubic feet behind the third row on the Expedition MAX, a different model year, so compare them only as a rough indication.
  • Parking and daily driving: The Explorer is 198.7 inches long. The Expedition is 209.9 inches (standard) or 221.7 inches (MAX).
  • Eight seats: Only the Expedition is listed with up to eight (2026) or seven or eight (2027).

For rivals, see SUVLook's best 3-row SUVs for 2026 and best 7 seater SUVs. The Chevrolet Traverse vs Ford Explorer comparison covers the Explorer's closest rival.

Frequently asked questions

Which Ford SUVs have a third row?

The Explorer and the Expedition. SUVLook's profiles for the Bronco, Bronco Sport, Escape and Mustang Mach-E describe a single rear seating row.

How many people does a Ford Explorer seat?

Ford lists six or seven for 2026, depending on the second-row layout. Ford's 2027 page lists up to seven, with six on the Tremor.

How much third-row legroom does the Ford Explorer have?

31.8 inches for 2026, per SUVLook's profile citing Ford. Ford's 2027 page did not state a figure.

Does the Ford Expedition seat eight?

Up to eight for 2026 per the profile. Ford's 2027 page says seven or eight.

What can the Ford Expedition tow?

For 2026, 9,600 pounds for a properly equipped standard-wheelbase 4x4 and 9,000 pounds for a MAX 4x4. For 2027, Ford's page lists up to 9,600 pounds on select 4x4 models with the Heavy-Duty Trailer Tow Package and lower ratings for 4x2. Confirm with the owner's manual and the door-jamb label.

Is the Ford Escape a 3-row SUV?

No. SUVLook's 2026 Escape profile describes a sliding second row and lists no third row.

Sources