For U.S. vehicles; figures from Stellantis North America's media site, checked November 4, 2026. Jeep's own model pages refused automated reading, so this guide relies on Stellantis releases and says where a figure is missing.

The latest Grand Cherokee lineup Stellantis has published is the 2027 model year, announced August 12, 2026. It lists ten trims and packages: Laredo, Laredo X, Laredo Altitude, Laredo Upland, Limited, Limited Altitude, Limited Reserve, Trailhawk, Overland and Summit. The 2027 release does not describe the three-row Grand Cherokee L, so the detailed feature walk-through below comes from the 2026 launch kit and is labeled as 2026. If you only want the short version: start with Laredo X for a V6 with the comfort basics, Laredo Altitude if you want the turbo engine, and Limited if rear passengers matter.

Grand Cherokee trim levels at a glance

Trim or package Model year in the source What the source says it adds or changes
Laredo 2026 and 2027 3.6-liter V6; 18-inch wheels, chrome accents, Active Lane Management, Rear Park Assist, blind-spot and rear cross-path monitoring, automatic emergency braking (2026). 10.1-inch screen replaces the 8.4-inch unit as standard (2027).
Laredo X 2026 and 2027 3.6-liter V6; heated front seats, heated steering wheel, sunroof, power liftgate, wireless charging pad (2026). Same 10.1-inch screen change and new 18-inch wheels (2027).
Laredo Altitude 2026 and 2027 Entry point for the 2.0-liter Hurricane 4 Turbo; 12.3-inch infotainment screen, premium audio, Selec-Terrain 4x4, Traffic Sign Recognition, Intersection Collision Assist (2026). New 18-inch wheel design (2027).
Laredo Upland 2027 (new) Trailhawk-inspired front fascia and tow hooks, 18-inch wheels with 265/60R18 all-terrain tires, body-color roof, Capri leatherette and suede seats in Global Black.
Limited 2026 and 2027 Includes Laredo content plus Silver Silk exterior accents, leatherette upholstery, heated second-row seats, nine-speaker Alpine audio, ambient lighting (2026). New 20-inch wheels, wireless charging pad, rain-sensing wipers (2027).
Limited Altitude (package) 2026 and 2027 Darkened accents, 20-inch black wheels, dual-pane panoramic sunroof (2026).
Limited Reserve (package) 2026 and 2027 20-inch black wheels, body-color lower fascias, dual-pane sunroof, Nappa leather seats and door trim, ventilated front seats, integrated off-road camera, digital rearview mirror (2026). Auto power-folding mirrors added (2027).
Trailhawk 2027 Listed with "late availability." The release gives a starting price but no feature list.
Overland 2027 Listed with "late availability." The release gives a starting price but no feature list.
Summit 2026 and 2027 Oak and Liquid Chrome interior accents, Palermo leather, suede headliner, massaging front seats, Quadra-Trac II 4x4 with air suspension, 19-speaker McIntosh audio (2026).

Which model year does each list describe?

Stellantis describes the 2026 changes in a launch release and the 2027 changes in a separate one. The 2027 document is a list of what is new, not a full equipment guide. That is why Trailhawk and Overland appear above without features: the release names them and prices them, but does not detail them.

Keep the two years apart when you shop. A used or leftover 2026 vehicle should be judged against the 2026 entries, and the 8.4-inch versus 10.1-inch screen difference is one example of a 2027 change that does not carry backward. Do not assume a 2026 feature is missing from, or present on, a 2027 trim solely because this table lists it.

Engines: V6, Hurricane 4 Turbo and the plug-in question

Stellantis says the 3.6-liter V6 is standard on Laredo and Laredo X for 2027, and the 2.0-liter Hurricane 4 turbocharged four-cylinder is standard on Laredo Altitude and higher. That matches the 2026 kit, which introduced the Hurricane 4 Turbo with 324 horsepower and 332 lb-ft of torque and an estimated 529-mile range on a tank. The engine, not the badge, is what separates Laredo X from Laredo Altitude, so drive both if the difference matters to you.

The 2026 kit says plug-in hybrid propulsion continues as an option, and a 2025 Grand Cherokee L fact sheet mentions a Grand Cherokee 4xe in the broader lineup. Neither document gives 4xe output, range, availability by trim or availability for the L. The 2027 release does not mention the 4xe at all. We could not verify a 4xe trim for 2026 or 2027, so check Jeep's current build tool or a dealer's written inventory rather than assuming one is available.

For the 3.6-liter V6, the 2026 kit gives no horsepower figure. The 2025 L fact sheet lists the Pentastar V6 at 293 horsepower and 260 lb-ft; that is a 2025 figure and is not applied here to later years.

Grand Cherokee versus Grand Cherokee L

The 2026 kit says the three-row Grand Cherokee L returns with the same simplified trim strategy as the two-row model. It adds two L-specific points: third-row USB chargers on Laredo Altitude and above, and an optional 60/40 second-row bench seat on three-row models. The kit also claims best-in-class second-row legroom and more cargo room behind the third row than competing SUVs, but it publishes no legroom or cargo numbers, so we cannot give you a figure.

The 2025 L fact sheet describes seating for up to seven across three rows. Neither the 2026 nor the 2027 release gives a seat count by trim. If you need a specific second-row layout, ask the dealer for the installed seat configuration, because a trim name alone does not establish it.

For three-row comparisons across brands, see our Honda Pilot trim guide, Ford Explorer trim guide and Toyota Grand Highlander trim guide.

Starting prices Stellantis has published

2027 configuration Starting price as published Destination wording in the release
Entry-level Grand Cherokee $41,515 Not stated
Laredo Upland $49,990 Not stated
Trailhawk $54,995 Not stated
Overland $57,895 "Including a $1,995 destination charge"

The 2026 launch kit states that pricing for the new turbo model would be announced at a later date. These are manufacturer figures, not dealer transaction prices. Taxes, registration, options and fees are additional.

Towing: what Stellantis publishes

Stellantis cites up to 6,200 pounds of towing "when properly equipped" in the 2027 release and calls it best-in-class. The 2026 kit attaches the same figure to the Hurricane 4 Turbo as a "class-leading 6,200-pound towing figure." The 2025 L fact sheet also lists up to 6,200 pounds, with no conditions.

None of these documents gives a rating by trim, by drivetrain, or for the V6 separately, and none states braked versus unbraked conditions. Treat 6,200 pounds as a maximum for a properly equipped vehicle, not as what every trim can tow. Confirm the exact rating for the vehicle you are buying in its owner's manual and on the door-jamb label before towing anything. For other SUVs' published figures, see our SUV towing capacity guide.

Screens, seats and driver-assistance differences

A few differences are easy to miss when comparing trims:

  • Screens: The 2026 kit introduces a 12.3-inch infotainment unit and an optional 10.25-inch front-passenger display. For 2027 the release makes a 10.1-inch screen standard on Laredo and Laredo X, replacing an 8.4-inch unit.
  • Seats: Heated front seats arrive with Laredo X. Heated second-row seats arrive with Limited. Ventilated front seats and Nappa leather come with Limited Reserve, and massaging front seats with Summit.
  • Safety: Base Laredo carries Active Lane Management, Rear Park Assist, blind-spot and rear cross-path monitoring and automatic emergency braking. Laredo Altitude and up add Traffic Sign Recognition and Intersection Collision Assist. Active Driving Assist (hands-free) is described as available across the lineup.
  • Four-wheel drive: Selec-Terrain 4x4 is named for Laredo Altitude and Quadra-Trac II with air suspension for Summit. The kit does not name the system on other trims.
  • Audio: Premium audio on Laredo Altitude, a nine-speaker Alpine system on Limited, a 19-speaker McIntosh system on Summit.

Which Grand Cherokee trim fits which buyer?

These are equipment-based suggestions from the lists above, not road-test rankings.

  • Commuter on a budget: Laredo X. It adds heated seats, a heated wheel, sunroof and power liftgate to the base V6 model, according to the 2026 kit.
  • Wants the turbo engine without a big jump in trim: Laredo Altitude, the lowest trim with the Hurricane 4 Turbo.
  • Family that uses the back seat: Limited, the first trim listed with heated second-row seats. On the L, also look at the third-row USB chargers and the optional second-row bench.
  • Light off-road or trail use: Laredo Upland is new for 2027 with all-terrain tires and tow hooks. Trailhawk exists for 2027 too, but the release gives no equipment details, so compare it on the vehicle itself.
  • Comfort and cabin finish: Limited Reserve for Nappa leather and ventilated seats, or Summit for massaging seats, suede headliner and McIntosh audio.

Whichever trim you choose, ask for a written equipment list. Package names change between model years, and the release that tells you what is new does not replace a window sticker.

How to check a specific vehicle

Use the vehicle's VIN and window sticker to confirm model year, trim, engine, seating and options. Ask the dealer whether the quoted price includes destination, and compare quotes that include the same equipment. For towing, use the owner's manual and door-jamb label rather than a trim-level headline.

Related SUVLook research

Frequently asked questions

What are the Jeep Grand Cherokee trim levels?

For 2027, Stellantis lists Laredo, Laredo X, Laredo Altitude, Laredo Upland, Limited, Limited Altitude, Limited Reserve, Trailhawk, Overland and Summit. Trailhawk and Overland are marked with late availability.

Is there a Grand Cherokee 4xe for 2026 or 2027?

We could not verify one. The 2026 kit says plug-in hybrid propulsion continues as an option without specifications, and the 2027 release does not mention it.

What is the cheapest 2027 Grand Cherokee?

Stellantis lists an entry-level Grand Cherokee starting at $41,515. The release does not say whether destination is included for that price.

How much can a Grand Cherokee tow?

Stellantis says up to 6,200 pounds when properly equipped. It publishes no per-trim or braked/unbraked breakdown, so confirm with the owner's manual and door-jamb label.

Does the Grand Cherokee L have the same trims?

For 2026, Stellantis says the L follows the same simplified trim strategy. The 2027 release does not cover the L, so check L equipment and pricing separately.

Which trim gets the turbo engine?

For 2027, the Hurricane 4 turbocharged four-cylinder is standard on Laredo Altitude and higher; Laredo and Laredo X use the 3.6-liter V6.

Sources